I’ve outdone myself

2-DSCN0619.JPG
Grilled salmon with yellow watermelon/peach salsa is a perfect summertime celebration … in my mouth!

Many years ago, when my nephew first came to California, he lived with us. Unfortunately he’d brought a repulsive, smarmy friend with him, who resides in infamy as the only person we’ve ever thrown out of our home.

One day after a really nice dinner I had prepared, Repulsive Boy walked up to me and with his heartiest deep man-voice proclaimed, “Anne, you’ve outdone yourself.”

I just started laughing. This brat had never eaten my food before and had no idea whether I was “outdoing” myself or whether it was just another normal dinner.

Tonight I outdid myself.

I love salmon year-round, but in the summertime it’s especially good grilled. We’ve developed the habit of grilling a bunch of food at the beginning of the week that we can eat for days to come. I made hamburgers, chicken legs and salmon.

I had bought a yellow watermelon earlier in the week and decided I wanted to make a salsa for my grilled salmon. Just when I was preparing to prepare it, I realized I had one perfect ripe peach. Our peach tree is starting to put out fruit, and the peaches are especially sweet this year.

I grilled my salmon in an aluminum foil tray I made out of heavy duty wrap. I sprinkled a little dried dill, but otherwise left the fish alone. It cooked fast, and I put it aside while I continued cooking.

Then I served myself the fish and fruit salsa, and was surprised at how well the flavors of mesquite-grilled fish blended with the salsa. It was a marriage made in culinary heaven.

I also had to prepare a creamy sauce because I have a thing for them with fish. The recipe is fine without it. It is perfect with it.

Grilled salmon with watermelon salsa

1 pound salmon fillets, skin on

Extra Virgin olive oil

chopped fresh or dried dill

Make a little tray out of heavy duty foil. Drizzle olive oil on both sides of the fillets. Sprinkle with dill. Cook over hot coals for 2 minutes on one side and 3 minutes on the other. Cover and set aside.

Watermelon salsa

2 cups watermelon cut in 1/2 inch pieces

1 ripe peach cut into small pieces

1/2 large jalapeno, seeded and chopped

1 very small white fresh cebolla, or 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion

chopped cilantro, to taste

juice of 1/2 lime

Mix everything together and serve with the fish.

Dill sauce

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup sour cream

juice of 1/2 lemon

chopped fresh dill or dried dill to taste

Mix together with a fork and serve with a fish.

 

Leave a Reply

