Speaking of blackberries

1-DSCN0488.JPG
A home run. This proved a real winner at the day-before-Memorial-Day dinner at my brother and sister-in-law’s. My husband even liked it and it wasn’t even chocolate.

With the abundance of blackberries I’m lucky enough to have in my backyard, I have been trying out all kinds of ways to use them. They’re fabulous on grilled meats, btw.

So buckle up and get ready for a surfeit of blackberry recipes as I process this year’s crop.

My brother- and sister-in-law invited us over for a backyard grill fest because some mutual friends were going to be in town. I had just filled my large colander with berries from the backyard and decided I wanted to make a cobbler.

I make cobblers out of my peaches each year. For those, I prefer a pie-like crust, flaky, buttery and rich. It balances out the inherent mushiness of the peaches.

But blackberries cook up with a thick, grainy texture because of the seeds and the very nature of the berries. I was leaning toward more of a cake-y texture for the cobbler, although I also considered a crisp.

I started researching online–from Martha Stewart’s blackberry crisp to a Betty Crocker recipe. I rejected it because I decided crunchy with grainy was too much texture. The Betty Crocker recipe had the necessary cake aspect but wasn’t for as big a cobbler and I didn’t feel like multiplying (OK seriously lazy.)

I found and adapted a recipe by a man named John Baron, which was posted on Allrecipes.com. It turned out very nicely. The cake-y cobbler was a perfect counterpoint for the jammy berries. I served it with Tallamook Caramel Toffee Crunch ice cream, which everyone said was the perfect complement.

Blackberry Cobbler (adapted from John Baron on Allrecipes.com)

6 cups fresh blackberries

1/4 cup melted unsalted butter

1/2 cup white sugar

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 to 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Cake

2 1/2 cups flour

1 cup white sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

2 cups milk

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup unsalted melted butter

1/2 cup of raw sugar

Clean berries and dry as much as possible. Drizzle melted butter on top of berries. Sprinkle cornstarch, sugar and cinnamon on top and toss with your hands until the berries are coated.

Spread in a buttered 13X9 inch pan.

In one bowl whisk together flour, Baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. In a separate bowl whisk together milk, vanilla add to dry ingredients. Add melted butter and stir until combined, but still lumpy. Pour on top of berries. Sprinkle raw sugar evenly on top.

Bake in 350 degree oven for 55 minutes or until cake is golden brown.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

